A Writing Process

1969185955_8add08fc7dMost of the writing advice I see says this:

  1. Think about what you want to write.
  2. Write an outline.
  3. Write out the whole piece.

Is that how you write?

Most students I’ve met don’t write that way. Many people like to think while they write.

I also like to think while I write. I don’t usually outline.

However, my writing tends to have these weaknesses:

  • too long
  • repetitive
  • odd organization
  • it takes a very long time to edit!

I’m starting to think of a better writing process for myself. Maybe it will be useful to you, too:

  1. Free write on the topic for 10 minutes.
    (free writing is just writing all the ideas you can think of as fast as you can)
  2. Use those ideas to build a logical outline.
  3. Write out the whole piece.

What is your process? Are you getting good results?

Listen to Emily read this post. (A new window will open.)

Photo Credit: Marco Arment on Flickr

Leave a Reply

